eLife showcases early-career authors of four outstanding papers

The academic editors of eLife have selected four new studies to represent the breadth, quality, and importance of papers invited by the journal, and be featured through the eLife-sponsored presentation series. A pre-tenure author on each of these papers will participate in a scientific meeting of one of eLife’s prestigious founding organisations: the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI), the Max Planck Society, or the Wellcome Trust.

The studies were selected for publication at eLife and have advanced our understanding of future treatments for leukemia, new techniques for studying morphogenesis, how a new genetic mutation can cause early-onset hypertension, and the discovery of a protein complex that can increase protein production in the cell.

The four outstanding papers are:

The transcriptional cofactor TRIM33 prevents apoptosis in B lymphoblastic leukemia by deactivating a single enhancer

Eric Wang, Shinpei Kawaoka, Jae-Seok Roe, Junwei Shi, Anja F Hohmann, Yali Xu, Anand S Bhagwat, Yutaka Suzuki, Justin B Kinney, Christopher R Vakoc.

MorphoGraphX: A platform for quantifying morphogenesis in 4D

Pierre Barbier de Reuille, Anne-Lise Routier-Kierzkowska, Daniel Kierzkowski, George W Bassel, Thierry Schüpbach, Gerardo Tauriello, Namrata Bajpai, Sören Strauss, Alain Weber, Annamaria Kiss, Agata Burian, Hugo Hofhuis, Aleksandra Sapala, Marcin Lipowczan, Maria B Heimlicher, Sarah Robinson, Emmanuelle M Bayer, Konrad Basler, Petros Koumoutsakos, Adrienne HK Roeder, Tinri Aegerter-Wilmsen, Naomi Nakayama, Miltos Tsiantis, Angela Hay, Dorota Kwiatkowska, Ioannis Xenarios, Cris Kuhlemeier, Richard S Smith.

Recurrent gain of function mutation in calcium channel CACNA1H causes early-onset hypertension with primary aldosteronism

Ute I Scholl, Gabriel Stölting, Carol Nelson-Williams, Alfred A Vichot, Murim Choi, Erin Loring, Manju L Prasad, Gerald Goh, Tobias Carling, C Christofer Juhlin, Ivo Quack, Lars C Rump, Anne Thiel, Marc Lande, Britney G Frazier, Majid Rasoulpour, David L Bowlin, Christine B Sethna, Howard Trachtman, Christoph Fahlke, Richard P Lifton.

Pharmacological dimerization and activation of the exchange factor eIF2B antagonizes the integrated stress response

Carmela Sidrauski, Jordan C Tsai, Martin Kampmann, Brian R Hearn, Punitha Vedantham, Priyadarshini Jaishankar, Masaaki Sokabe, Aaron S Mendez, Billy W Newton, Edward L Tang, Erik Verschueren, Jeffrey R Johnson, Nevan J Krogan, Christopher S Fraser, Jonathan S Weissman, Adam R Renslo, Peter Walter.

Congratulations to these talented investigators, and the following early-careers researchers who have been nominated from each group to present their work:

Eric Wang, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory (USA)

Anne-Lise Routier-Kierzkowska, Max Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research (Germany)

Ute Scholl, Yale University School of Medicine (USA)

Jordan Tsai, University of California at San Francisco (USA)

To find out more about the series, and information on nominees from previous rounds, please click here.